Would you like a scone with that?

This weekend I was in the mood for scones – Now while with many of the other things I like to bake – cupcakes, brownies and so on – I usually have a go to recipe – however – I hadn’t get found my scone go to recipe. So this was an experiment as I had never made these before but they came out pretty nice and I imagine I will use this recipe again – but I also might still look out for that ‘go to’ recipe.

This recipe comes from Bake by Tina Bester – Queen of Tarts (what you see below includes some of my own tweaks)

Ingredients:

500 grams – Self-raising flour (or normal flour with 30ml of baking powder added)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon castor sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

80 grams butter, diced

2 large eggs

250 ml buttermilk

Steps:

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C

2. Sift the flour and baking powder together in a bowl

3. Stir in the sugar and the salt and then add the diced butter – rub the butter into the flour using your fingertips until it looks like breadcrumbs

4. Add one of the eggs to the buttermilk and beat – then add this mixture to the flour

5. Mix together, gathering into a ball and then knead lightly.

6. Flatten to about 3cm thick and cut out rounds with a cookie cutter.

7. Place them on a baking tray, brush with the second egg (beaten) and bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown and risen.

Makes about 15

**Mine didnt quite rise as much as I wanted them to but they still tasted great and…well…I may have only made them yesterday but they are all finished – which I guess is a good sign 😉

One thought on “Would you like a scone with that?

Leave a Reply

