A little meander around Johannesburg’s Neighbourgoods Market…

When living in Cape Town, the market on Saturday mornings at Old Biscuit Mill was always an indulgent favourite. I was a fan. I even withstood the parking difficulties, that awkward feeling I always get when around them cool hipsters, and the masses and masses of people, because I really enjoyed that market, if I was in the right mood. (Lets be honest, if you are tired or a bit crabby, wading through crowds of people after spending some time finding a parking is usually not exactly what you’d feel like doing…)

DSC_0066-2

Somehow it took me quite a few months to get to Johannesburg’s ‘Old Biscuit Mill’ equivalent. The Neighbourgoods Market at 73 Juta Street, Braamfontein. As much as I would love to tell how I spent my Saturday morning surrounded by friends eating sweet treats and drinking frozen margaritas in the sun, I did this first exploration of the Neighbourgoods Market on my lonesome. Firstly because I am still trying to find those friends I really fit in with/find new friends at all! Secondly, AP was at work. Thirdly, when I was eternally single, I refused to let that stop me doing whatever it was I wanted to do. Now I am in a relationship but single in a different way, I am no longer surrounded by a group of ‘girl friends’ in the way I was before, so I decided that that wouldn’t stop me from doing what I want to do either. So I took me, myself and my camera to the Neighbourgoods Market. Here are some of the photos I took. It had a great vibe, slightly more space than the Biscuit Mill but somewhat less of the great variety of foodstuffs offered by Biscuit Mill. However it does have a brightly, sunny ‘deck’ area where you could (if you are not me in my current ‘limbo’ state) go and chill with friends and a craft beer or margarita and some yummy things to munch on. All in all it is definitely a great way to spend a Saturday morning/lunch time, massive group of friends or on your ace.

DSC_0069-2

DSC_0070-2

DSC_0073-4
DSC_0074-3So I bought some cupcakes (which were AMAZING! And remember I am a baking addict, I have eaten and baked a lot of cupcakes in my time, these really were delicious) and a craft beer for AP – its called a ‘BoneCrusher’, which is an odd interesting name for beer, and seems to be very popular.

DSC_0078-2

DSC_0080-4

DSC_0082-2Those stairs lead to that sunny fabulous chilling area I mentioned earlier. Just incase you wanted to know.

Champagne and Oysters, anyone?

Champagne and Oysters, anyone?

DSC_0071-3

DSC_0089-3

DSC_0090-2

DSC_0095-2

DSC_0079

4 thoughts on “A little meander around Johannesburg’s Neighbourgoods Market…

Leave a Reply

